Vannin' Home
Posted By: nautic1 Certified Judges - September 28th 2009 1:07 pm
Okay I am going to propose a question here regarding the certification of judges. As most know at the Nats and CoC there is a class on judging a van. I have attended several of these classes. And yes I am a certified judge. Have been for several years along with my wife Wendy. My question is this, Does attending one of these classes and taking a test qualify the person to walk out on the field and judge a nationals? For some this could very well be the first time they ever judged a show in their vanning career. I was talking with several others at a recent event and they seem to agree. One class and a card does not a judge make thee. I hold nothing against the Nats Board and Howard, Judith, Coop, Paul etc for putting on this class. It is very informative and well worth the hour or two that it takes to cover. Truthfully several days of this would not be enough. There is just too much and I am still learning and have been judging for 28 years. It is just not something to learn overnight or in a few hour course. I would like to hear others thoughts on this as well as the Nats board's. You can now throw the rims at me. I will try to duck.
Posted By: Lordmodelbuilder Re: Certified Judges - September 28th 2009 1:15 pm
Hey Phil,
I took the judging seminar at the CofC in Vegas this year. I did pass it & have my certified van judge card. I would think this would mean that I could be a judge at the Nats.
It is just a piece of paper,but it does say I am certified. Although nobody is ever 100% qualified to judge anything, I am confident that I could judge anything van related. I do know what to look for when judging a show. Just my 2%,Brad
Posted By: nautic1 Re: Certified Judges - September 28th 2009 1:26 pm