Vannin' Home
Hi newbie here.

I signed up to ask a question on another part of the forum so I thought I would balance that with a contribution here by sharing this circuit I designed and fitted to my B300 based 1973 motorhome. It's a good fun project for winter evenings (see schematic drawing file attached - I hope).

Avoids having to repeatedly reach over and flick the wiper switch when it's only slightly raining which is a pain (right?).

So the circuit provides a variable wiper delay of 5 - 19 seconds between wipes. I works independently so the wipers don't need to be switched on. If they are switched on they just wipe normally regardless of whether the delay control is on or off.

My basic idea was a bit too simplistic as it turned out - I thought: just send repeated short pulses to the wiper motor as if I was flicking the wiper switch myself, make the pulse short enough to allow the wipers to park themselves in between until the next pulse comes along.

That turned out to be a little naive because, after I got the circuit mocked up and working on the bench, I then found a problem interfacing with the Dodge wiper park wiring, not having looked at the wiper wiring diagram until after I built the circuit! (see below my solution).

As for components - the 555 timer chip and LM7805 5v voltage regulator chip can be bought for peanuts. The 5th pin on the timer chip is not used. The other components are common and dirt cheap and "near enough" alternatives should work fine.

In case anyone is wondering, the lower diode makes the pulse short and the delay long. Without it the pulse and delay would be much closer to the same duration.