Page 1 of 2 1 2
Food Ideas?
#776509 May 20th 2021 1:42 pm
L
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
L
Good afternoon Vanners! I'm pretty new to the whole vanning community so I have a few questions for everyone! Me and the wife are planning a cross country trip here soon and don't want to break the bank (and our belts) with take out food. What are some super easy to go meals that can last a few days? What are your go to foods when you're going on a long cruise? Let me know!

-Logan

Re: Food Ideas?
loganpines #776516 May 20th 2021 2:40 pm
veteran
veteran
I'm probably the worst person to ask, as years in the Army gave me the absolute worst eating habits. My go-to are usually trail mix, beef jerky, and garbage gut canned food like Spaghetti-Os and Vienna Sausages. lol

I always save enough aside for eating at a restaurant or two, and sometimes I'll pack a cooler with stuff for sandwiches. When I'm on keto, I do the sandwiches with lettuce wraps instead of bread. That diet alone requires a lot of thinking outside the box.

I like Dutch oven stews and such when camping. Bacon, eggs, and steaks over a camp fire. Anything that the mood hits me for really, I don't put a bunch of thought into it so long as it's not an MRE, thank God those days are over. lol

One thing I will suggest is a big jug or even two of water. Not only will it come in handy if you end up with long distances between stops, but can also be used in a pinch if you pop a coolant hose or something of that nature.

[Linked Image from live.staticflickr.com]

1 member likes this: loganpines
kursed #776517 May 20th 2021 2:46 pm
L
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
L