Vanning.com logo
Boxdin
Site Navigation


Advertisements
Recent Posts
Van Prices
by pontiac59 - May 08th 2021 5:12 pm
What Did You do To your Van Today?
by Scrojira - May 08th 2021 11:27 am
bigger gas tank
by circularpastry - May 08th 2021 10:59 am
How many g30 vans with 454's on here?
by Vanattic - May 07th 2021 10:57 pm
Featured Links
Vanning.Com is a an authorized Amsoil Dealer


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
94 G20: suggestions on where to run amp power wire through firewall
#773347 March 22nd 2021 10:28 pm
Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 15
Likes: 1
G
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
G
Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 15
Likes: 1
any suggestions on where to run the amp power wire through firewall? it was easier on cars i did in the past because lots more space lol. but before i drill a hole through the firewall maybe someone had done it before that could help me out. thanks

AdSense long
Re: 94 G20: suggestions on where to run amp power wire through firewall
G20Hunter #773348 March 22nd 2021 11:11 pm
Joined: Jun 2020
Posts: 125
Likes: 5
member
Offline
member
Joined: Jun 2020
Posts: 125
Likes: 5
If I'm not mistaken the speedo cable come through the firewall. But its behind the gauges. Honestly, I would just cut a hole if you don't see any. You can get a nice rubber fitting for it.


1987 G20
2015 XL1200C
2010 E61
Re: 94 G20: suggestions on where to run amp power wire through firewall
G20Hunter #773363 March 23rd 2021 8:28 am
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,623
Likes: 30
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,623
Likes: 30
Not sure, my 82 project and the spare 70s clip I have both have numerous "extra" holes drilled in the firewall already, so I'm not sure if any are factory or not. Definitely grab a pack of rubber grommets from the parts store if you go drilling a new one and you can use a little finger nail polish on the bare metal to protect it from rust when you drill the hole.


[Linked Image from live.staticflickr.com]

Re: 94 G20: suggestions on where to run amp power wire through firewall
G20Hunter #773367 March 23rd 2021 10:17 am
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 469
Likes: 16
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 469
Likes: 16
I used the existing hole & grommet that the speedo cable goes through without any problem.


[Linked Image from i.imgur.com]
Re: 94 G20: suggestions on where to run amp power wire through firewall
G20Hunter #773369 March 23rd 2021 11:30 am
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,085
Likes: 33
Rust N Dents
Offline
Rust N Dents
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 3,085
Likes: 33
My van came with shelving bolted to the floor from a previous owner.
When I removed that stuff, I ran a power wire through one of the holes that were left.
It was in a really good spot too, since I wanted to mount the amp somewhere behind the driver's seat.


[Linked Image]
Re: 94 G20: suggestions on where to run amp power wire through firewall
G20Hunter #775358 April 30th 2021 3:04 am
Joined: Apr 2021
Posts: 18
P
stranger
Offline
stranger
P
Joined: Apr 2021
Posts: 18
1994 doesn't have a cable, the G-vans go electric speedo in 1991.

If you haven't done this yet, on mine I found a spot where you could add a hole above the brake pedal that put you out just right (passenger side) of the battery. A Hobo Freight step bit makes it nice and easy. It's high enough inside it doesn't interfere with anything but low enough to not need to get in really behind the dash, and easy to reach from under the hood.


1994 G20
2002 Express, sitting dead
1988 G20 conversion, stored
Re: 94 G20: suggestions on where to run amp power wire through firewall
G20Hunter #775373 April 30th 2021 1:00 pm
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 73
L
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
L
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 73
My 90g20 doesn't have a speedo cable. It was built in May 90.

Last edited by Lionhead; April 30th 2021 1:04 pm.
Re: 94 G20: suggestions on where to run amp power wire through firewall
G20Hunter #775521 May 02nd 2021 7:43 pm
Joined: Apr 2021
Posts: 18
P
stranger
Offline
stranger
P
Joined: Apr 2021
Posts: 18
Maybe it's 1990 then. I know the 88 has one. My 89 Suburban had one. 91 Suburban did not and 91 van doesn't either.

I can't remember now which cluster it is but some have issues with the odometer drum gear wearing and then it slips a little with an annoying click noise. One of the times I was in Indianapolis we went to a couple yards, I was looking for another cluster to have on hand and they had one in, but somebody smashed the gauges up, broke the needles off, so all I did was pull out the drum with the digits.


1994 G20
2002 Express, sitting dead
1988 G20 conversion, stored
Re: 94 G20: suggestions on where to run amp power wire through firewall
G20Hunter #775542 May 02nd 2021 11:12 pm
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 73
L
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
L
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 73
My odometer works,but the needle does sometimes and sometimes not.


Moderated by  Astro, Ram4ever 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate


discovery
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 6 guests, and 5 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
UncleVanman, circularpastry, Soterik, Vanpire88, mcheese
11919 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
SDMickey 303
kursed 106
frscke1 60
Lee7673 51
NateB 45
Forum Statistics
Forums68
Topics39,203
Posts545,356
Members11,919
Most Online177
May 8th, 2013

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4