Vanning.com logo
Boxdin
Site Navigation


Advertisements
Recent Posts
What Did You do To your Van Today?
by tuner4life. July 10th 2020 8:14 am
1982 G20 build
by SDMickey. July 10th 2020 2:16 am
Making her first "public" appearance
by SDMickey. July 10th 2020 2:14 am
Possible 2500 van purchase. Any thoughts?
by xtrmnop. July 10th 2020 2:13 am
VIRAL VAN-IN
by newkirkinc1. July 09th 2020 7:52 pm
Living in a van down by the river
by newkirkinc1. July 09th 2020 7:50 pm
83-96 Chevy Rear Swaybar
by amcochrane. July 09th 2020 3:51 pm
Looking for a new ride-Astro or Safari ?
by NEmery. July 09th 2020 9:58 am
Custom Early Dodge Van Utility Trailer/Central NJ
by billybob. July 09th 2020 1:03 am
Featured Links
Vanning.Com is a an authorized Amsoil Dealer


Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Safari only one high beam working #760195
May 04th 2020 8:19 am
May 04th 2020 8:19 am
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Upton, MA
PorkUnit Offline OP
stranger
PorkUnit  Offline OP
stranger
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Upton, MA
2005 Safari both low beams work; the right side high beam does not work. Cleaned contacts at the headlights, checked wires into the harness, cleaned the chassis grounds. Checked the headlight relays and fuses. Swapped the headlights. Replaced the Multifuntion switch / wiper / signal / hi-low switch.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/GM-OEM-Windshield-Wiper-Switch-26108513/282021368369

Brand new in the wrapper. Replacing the Multifunction Switch is very theraputic..... plan on a 12 pack and help from someone with small fingers.

Sadly, it didn't fix the problem. Both low beams work; but the high beam on the right side is still not working. Voltage at both headlights are the same reading; both reading match for the low beams and both reading match for the high beams respectively. 12 volts on the pin on the right.

WTF.... Any ideas?
Thanks
Lee


PorkUnit
lmaglione@charter.net
Re: Safari only one high beam working [Re: PorkUnit] #760201
May 04th 2020 9:16 am
May 04th 2020 9:16 am
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,047
Staunton, VA
kursed Offline
old hand
kursed  Offline
old hand
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,047
Staunton, VA
If you're getting voltage and good ground to the light, but it's not lighting up, has to be the headlight bulb itself. Have you tested ground at the bulb socket?


[Linked Image]
Re: Safari only one high beam working [Re: PorkUnit] #760314
May 05th 2020 9:00 pm
May 05th 2020 9:00 pm
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Upton, MA
PorkUnit Offline OP
stranger
PorkUnit  Offline OP
stranger
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Upton, MA
Thanks for the tip. I chased the ground wire for the right headlight to the chassis and hit it with the grinder. I did NOT check the ground at the socket though. I'll check continuity. I'll run a test ground wire to the socket. Could use the wiring diagram for 2005 Astro/Safari headlights; that would help! Thinking about just running a wire for the high beams from the left side to the right side! IDK Is there a body control module I should be checking?

Failing Massachusetts Inspection for faulty High Beam.....


PorkUnit
lmaglione@charter.net
Re: Safari only one high beam working [Re: PorkUnit] #761130
May 19th 2020 9:59 pm
May 19th 2020 9:59 pm
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Upton, MA
PorkUnit Offline OP
stranger
PorkUnit  Offline OP
stranger
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Upton, MA
Well..... still fighting this. Learned a lot about Astro/Safari headlight and DRL daytime running light functionality the hard way. Good call Kursed on the ground. Made up a ground jumper to the right side low beam (the pink wire for those playing at home). YES- Right High Beam works! ..... but only the High Beam now; no Low Beam.

Found there's a fuse on the inside fuse panel for the cluster that also effects the day time running lights DRL; #4 fuse. But that didn't do it.

Also there is a relay for the DRL that's located in the dash, directly behind the OBDII port. There's actually a few sets of relays up under there. This requires an inverted head stand and slight dislocation of your right shoulder to locate. You can't see it; but you can feel it.....(what f..in rocket surgeon designs this stuff). Sadly....that didn't do it. New headlight / dimmer switch on order. To be continued......


PorkUnit
lmaglione@charter.net
Re: Safari only one high beam working [Re: PorkUnit] #761155
May 20th 2020 9:31 am
May 20th 2020 9:31 am
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,047
Staunton, VA
kursed Offline
old hand
kursed  Offline
old hand
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,047
Staunton, VA
Maybe you popped the low beam bulb when the ground was bad? Dunno man, that's a tough one for sure.


[Linked Image]
Re: Safari only one high beam working [Re: PorkUnit] #761234
May 21st 2020 9:12 pm
May 21st 2020 9:12 pm
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Upton, MA
PorkUnit Offline OP
stranger
PorkUnit  Offline OP
stranger
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Upton, MA
I have a good spare sealed beam I keep swapping in to test. Good thought though. Well...... new Headlight / Dimmer switch arrived from RockAuto today. Easy swap.... but NFG on the High Beam. Also received Chiltons and Haynes manuals. Verified the wiring diagram; but manuals and diagrams really don't give enough down and dirty detail. Heading back to the liquior store now.


PorkUnit
lmaglione@charter.net
Re: Safari only one high beam working [Re: PorkUnit] #761238
May 22nd 2020 12:03 am
May 22nd 2020 12:03 am
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,047
Staunton, VA
kursed Offline
old hand
kursed  Offline
old hand
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,047
Staunton, VA
Originally Posted by PorkUnit
Heading back to the liquior store now.
lol

Keep at it, you'll figure it out. I'm too tired to problem solve at the moment, but if something comes to me, I'll send the idea your way.

When you added the new ground cable, you did add that to the high beam as well right? Just checking.


[Linked Image]
Re: Safari only one high beam working [Re: PorkUnit] #761487
May 27th 2020 9:46 pm
May 27th 2020 9:46 pm
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Upton, MA
PorkUnit Offline OP
stranger
PorkUnit  Offline OP
stranger
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Upton, MA
Yup....glad you're keeping track. Grounded the right high beam, worked fine; but no low beam now. Getting confused; going back to the liquior store. Checking on a BCM module; all the wires and connections look fine. Will try to id the wires at the BCM and tap the high beam for voltage and ground.

Flashlights from Harbor Freight!

BCM's are available; but needs to be programed to the VIN. $$$


PorkUnit
lmaglione@charter.net
Re: Safari only one high beam working [Re: PorkUnit] #761566
May 29th 2020 8:24 am
May 29th 2020 8:24 am
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,047
Staunton, VA
kursed Offline
old hand
kursed  Offline
old hand
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,047
Staunton, VA
Man what a headache. Hope you get it sorted soon.


[Linked Image]
Re: Safari only one high beam working [Re: PorkUnit] #762107
June 08th 2020 8:39 pm
June 08th 2020 8:39 pm
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Upton, MA
PorkUnit Offline OP
stranger
PorkUnit  Offline OP
stranger
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 24
Upton, MA
Well, got some help from Mike "No Mercy"; decipher the wiring schematic. Jumpered the Left High Beam (pink wire) to the Right High Beam (pink wire). YES! let there be LIGHT! Not the best solution; but enough to get through Massachusetts Inspection. High beams and Low beams work as advertised. Seems like the issue is in the harness between the Right and Left High Beam (pink wire). Unwinding the wire loom and tape; see if there's a break. The jumper is good for now! Thanks for the suggestions!
Thanks
Lee
(can't wait to go vannin again)!


PorkUnit
lmaglione@charter.net
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Astro 

Donate


Upcoming Events
discovery
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
MaddDog72, LanPartyGamers, Tex66, gtech0971, Chalkbus
11502 Registered Users
Top Posters(30 Days)
SDMickey 214
NateB 101
LOOKSLO 43
Lee7673 34
Forum Statistics
Forums68
Topics37,689
Posts533,898
Members11,502
Most Online177
May 8th, 2013

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1.1