Rate Thread
Page 3 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Re: 1985 RAM B250 Royal Van - Project
Slartidbartfast #761860 June 04th 2020 3:00 am
W
veteran
veteran
W
Glad to help. I've got nearly 20 years experience living on battery power, and enjoy helping others to avoid the mistakes I made.

The intended electrical loads are very helpful into how much battery she can get away with, and for how long the battery needs to be viable.

Number one, is the Laptops usage. This is the single biggest electrical consumer in my rig. If you look at the AC/DC power brick it will say something like output 19.5vDC and 4.5 amps. volts times amperage equals wattage.

So in this example the acdc power supply Is capable of supplying 87.75 watts. This however does not mean the laptop when it is on, wil be consuming that much. I have a 90 watt power supply, but typoing this the actual wattage consumed jumps between 26 and 42 watts, say an average of 35 watts, just online with one window open. insert a dvd and this is 55 to 60 watts. Streaming 1080i video, is 55 to 70 watts. But this is a 2010 dell laptop running windows 7. What yoyur daughter's and her friends laptops actually consume in use depends on teh laptop and the task it is doing, and the state of charge of its internal battery.

Actual amperage/ wattage consumed is great data to have. On Ac power a tool called a Kill a watt is abou 25$ and will give a wattage figure. But batteries are not rated in watt hours, but in amp hours. So one must do a little math, say the battery is at 12.4v amnd the load is 35 watts, how many amps is this? 35 watts divided by 12.4 watts is 2.8 amps of load.