Rate Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Regular fridge in a van?
Lister #746681 March 27th 2019 1:21 pm
W
veteran
veteran
W
No red flags. But I've no experience with that specific brand. Nor have I read anything about them from those.that own them.

Make sure the cooling unit vents are not obstructed in use. And the ciggy plug feeding it should be some thicker copper.

Always best to bypass.ciggyplugs and receptacles. If one can do so.without voiding warranty.

Lister #746682 March 27th 2019 1:30 pm
old hand
old hand
Cool. Definitely would be going in it's own dedicated circuit I'll have to look into the plug and what can be done with that.

[Linked Image]
Lister #746683 March 27th 2019 2:49 pm
W
veteran
veteran
W
I think a lot of portable fridge failures are caused by a weak intermittent connection where the ciggy plug nipple meets the back of the receptacle, This spring loaded nipple (+) is always pushing and trying to work the rest of the plug back out of the receptacle. Add a bunch of vehicle vibrations and there is at some point, where it barely makes contact and can be turning on and off dozens of times per second which i think is tremendousy stressful on some electrical componets within the compressor controller