Mid life crisis van conversion or not?
#731123 December 24th 2017 9:51 pm
B
Brenner Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
B
Hello all, I come across this forum while researching information for my latest project. Being a licensed tech I have always built and maintained my own vehicles. Over the years I have had many trucks and cars, and looking back now I realize that I have had only one van. My previous was a 1978 VW panel van that was budget built but lots of fun. Sadly it was sold when I bought my first home and I had no place to keep it. Much has changed in life lately and I have been considering travelling as a form of vacation. I was considering riding cross country on one of my Harleys but I don't think I could make it due to being saddle sore so I decided that I would look for a full sized van to put the bike in and take it with me. While looking for what was available I see many due to living in the rust belt that are in major need of reconstruction. Having done this time and time again I thought I would look for something that was not as cancered. My findings are that most are beat up work vans or overpriced conversions. I search this forum as well as others and see most people are sticking with the older model vans. I love the nostalgia, and the tried tested and true approach but have not as of yet found one that tickles my fancy. I love the old but have been thinking that it be best to go newer for my needs which leads me to my next observation or problem. I note that many vans in the last 20 or so years have changed and that not many people are doing them up. Of the manufacturers I prefer are the big 3 Dodge, Ford, and GM. I love the dodge but I want a full frame van but not a tall van so a 1/2 ton or low riding van is what I was looking for. I am not brand biased but looking at the models it seems that the ford has not changed alot and retains the boxy van look that I am after so I have been looking in that direction. with my searches I have seen a f