Just saying WHATS UP DANGITALL!
#728625 October 07th 2017 5:49 pm
T
Turnkey Offline OP
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
T
Heres my deal. Just turned a young 61. On my fourth van build right now. Like a dork I said B20 in a couple comments I made earlier. Duh..I drove Dodges for many years. Anyways, its a 93 G20 Chevy former conversion package now converted into a fully equiped camper inside, although by no means is it done yet. But are they ever? Im gonna try to ad some pictures so you can follow along with the rebirth if ya all want. Been a vanner since 1974 back when I first managed a little speed shop in town here. Had my own custom interior shop back in the heyday. Making custom cabinets for vans is a specialty I do. Also painted cars and vans back then but a bit long in the tooth for all that now. I was a traveling professional musician from 1982 straight on thru untill 1991 when I went back to college to become a teacher. Got banged up real bad in a highway pileup in 1990 as a passenger and screwed my spine up pretty dang good. Big surgery followed by 96 and aint done so well since, but still vannin. I was very surprised and very pleased to find out that the art and appreciation for custom vans really hasnt gone away like I thought it had. KICKASS! Did the Van Slam in 1980 and 81. What a three day weekend that was YOWZA! Hell ya, this rules! I am so happy to find out Im indeed not at all alone! Custom vans rule. Nothing else like em and there never will be. I look forward to meeting you all and seeing you at some events once Im ready to show. That said dont be surprised if I show up with work in progress. Aint nothing holding this old dog down! Ill help with any questions that I can. All my old custom vans were Chrysler products so I know em pretty well. I was a parts guy for six years in the seventies to. My first custom van build was a 71, number two, a 76, number three a basic 79. Ive switched to Chevy G bodies and not dinking with anything newer than a 95