Re: Need some help installing alternator
Kylescore #722663 April 19th 2017 10:44 am
W
veteran
Online Content
veteran
W
Hey Kyle,

I think you're on the right track. I'm not an expert, but I just did the alternator on the big Dodge, so hope this helps. Any Dodge Boys out there in Vannerland feel free, eh.

My Alternators are different, but the long spacers insert in the middle of the body to support the tabs, the short one closest to the block. The sleeve in the inner mounting tab will slide to take up any slack. Hard to see, but it looks right in the last picture. Assemble it all and just snug up the bolts. They key is to align the pulleys so the belts run straight.

I don't see the adjustment bracket setup in your pic, but put a big screwdriver in between the alternator body and the block, and pry outward to put tension on the belt. It doesn't take much. Three hands do help. 1/2 inch of deflection is good. Tighten the bolts. Vroom. Cold one...

Van on Kyle!

Kylescore #722676 April 19th 2017 1:19 pm
K
OP Offline
K
Thanks, Im gonna give it another go tonight when i get home. The back of the alternator has twotabs for plugs to attach to. Does it matter which is which? The tabs are not marked. The service manual says they are "fields"

[Linked Image]
Kylescore #722678 April 19th 2017 2:22 pm
pooh-bah
pooh-bah
I have plenty of useful reference pictures of this area, and I'd gladly attach some for you, but I can't see mine to select them!

Turns out that I'm having problems with photobucket too; suddenly none of my pages will display properly; my home page color scheme has changed, and there's nothing but lots of broken link icons and placeholders in tab sequence rather than the normal grid display. Clearing my browser cache and turning off ad and script blocking made no difference at all. Perhaps photobucket made yet another one of its infamous unannounced updates which breaks their site functionality...