Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Terrible MPG
#458043 March 31st 2011 5:25 pm
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
My most recent MPG calculations leave me at 7.5 MPG! Yuck! When I bought the van with old everything I was getting 10-12. Now that the engines rebuilt and I have a new carb w/electric choke and a new mechanical fuel pump I'm getting 7.5.

All the things I've done in an attempt to improve mileage has made things worse.

My rear tires are 10" and I have a flowmaster exhaust. I heard these can decrease mpg, but I swapped those forever ago.

Where's my gas going?

78 Vandura
[Linked Image]
Re: Terrible MPG
vanburgo #458049 March 31st 2011 6:17 pm
Maniac
Maniac
Need more info. Engine size? Transmission? Rear axle ratio? Modifications to the motor?

I suspect that when you rebuild the motor you added some go-fast parts. You will need to spend the time dialing everything in to maximize performance.

As a general rule of thumb, on a smallblock motor in a van, you want a carb that flows less than 500 CFM. This basically limits you to small Holleys, the Edelbrock performer that flows 500 CFM, a Holley 4360, or a Quadrajet or Thermoquad. Whatever carb you have, make sure the choke is adjusted properly, there are no vacuum leaks, and that the carb is tuned right for your van. Spreadbore carbs can get better MPG than squarebore, but yo need to keep your foot out of it.

You also want to be sure to have a distributor with (a) functioning vacuum advance; (b) functioning mechanical advance (old grease can harden up and keep the weights from moving); and (c) a timing advance curve that is tailored to your van. Distributor recurving is too big a topic to go into in one post, but you should research it. The timing curve can have a big impact on performance and economy. Also, double check that your base timing is set properly.