Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
What Works 4 You?
#568485 June 14th 2012 12:23 pm
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
I have been using an Optima D34/78 battery in my van since 2003. In 2009, it began loosing capacity and I replaced it with another one even though it didn't have as much reserve capacity (120 minutes) as I desired, because the previous one worked great for everything else, lasted longer than I thought it would, tolerated an incredible amount of abuse, did it all with sub-standard, junkyard wiring, and was all the battery I could afford.

[Linked Image]

The replacement has already died, and I think I would like to try a battery (or batteries) with more RC, and a little higher budget (about $350-400).

I've thought about an Odessey PC1350, which won't fit in the stock location, but will fit in the bed pedestal (below). The spare tire, a few tools, fluids, and driver-side fenderwell take about 2/3 of the storage space provided by the pedestal (twin-size), so there is room for more batteries if required.
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Later, when I have more cash, could I add a different battery (stock location) and the wiring/switching to make the Odessey an aux. unit, or do I have to get all batteries at the same time?

Anyone know of a better power source?

What works for you?

[Linked Image]
new Junkyard Jitters Progress Report pages coming soon.
Be sure to visit then. http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3842191/1977-dodge-b-series
AdSense long
Re: What Works 4 You?
vandude360 #568493 June 14th 2012 12:47 pm
I run Interstate Batteries....3 of them under my bed pedistal....group 29...$141 a piece...before you get another battery you need to find out what your amp per hr draw...the best person to talk to is Wrcsixeight...he has the best power setup Ive seen for a while...

SUNSHINE VANS-VAN DIEGO
ADRENALIN BY THE GALLON & CHASIN RACIN
ONE FOR THE DIRT & ONE FOR THE STREETS
'93 CHEVY G30 454 4X4 SPORTVAN EXT 146" WB